Where can I vote early in Davidson County?
Where can I vote early in Davidson County?


Early voting for Tennessee’s August 1 primary begins Friday, July 12.

The competitive Republican and Democratic primaries feature candidates from everything from the U.S. Senate to seats in the General Assembly. Multiple candidates from the same party are vying for the nomination before the general election in November. Some district races are also on the ballot.

Early voting ends Saturday, July 27. Here’s what you need to know.

Too late to register? Can I vote by mail? Which elections are important? What else is on the ballot? Where can I vote early? What do I need to bring? What ballot will I get? Can I leave work?

Yes. The voter registration deadline for the August 1 primary was July 2. To check your registration status, visit

If you are registered to vote by mail, you can request a mail-in ballot no later than July 25. However, the Davidson County Election Commission advises voters to request the ballot by July 18 to account for mail-in delays.

Absentee voters must submit a request by mail, fax or email to their county’s election commission, which can be found here. Voters can use this Absentee Ballot Request Form.

In Davidson County, voters can submit this form to the Davidson County Election Commission. The commission’s mailing address is PO Box 650, Nashville, TN 37202, and its email address is [email protected].

However, not everyone is eligible to vote by mail. According to the Tennessee Secretary of State’s office, you are eligible to vote by mail if:

  • You are sixty (60) years of age or older.
  • During the early voting period and throughout Election Day, you will be outside the precinct in which you are registered.
  • You are hospitalised, ill or physically disabled and cannot attend your polling station to vote. No medical certificate is required to tick this box.
  • You are the carer of someone who is hospitalised, ill or disabled. No medical certificate is required to tick this box.
  • You or your spouse are a full-time student at an accredited college or university outside the district in which you are enrolled.
  • You live in a nursing home, an assisted living facility or a retirement home outside your residential area.
  • You are running for office in the election.
  • You observe a religious holiday that prevents you from voting in person during early voting and on Election Day.
  • They act as election assistants or as members or employees of the electoral commission.
  • Because of your jury duty, you cannot vote in person.
  • You have a physical disability and the polling station is not accessible to you.
  • You or your spouse possess a valid Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) or Transportation Worker Identification Credential (TWIC) card and will work outside the state or county of registration during early voting hours and Election Day and will not have a specific address outside the state or county to which mail can be sent or received during those hours.
  • You are a member of the military or a citizen of a foreign country.
  • You are on the list of permanent absentees.

Tennessee’s Republican and Democratic primaries take place on August 1. Key races include a U.S. Senate, U.S. House of Representatives and a General Assembly seat. Here’s an overview of the elections in the Nashville area.

US Senate

Incumbent Republican Senator Marsha Blackburn of Tennessee is running against Tres Wittum, a former Republican staffer, for re-nomination as the Republican candidate.

The Democratic primary features a race with four candidates: Tennessee Representative Gloria Johnson (D-Knoxville), Lola Denise Brown, Civil Miller-Watkins and Marquita Bradshaw.

US House

Republican Rep. Andy Ogles of Columbia is running in the Republican primary for the Republican nomination against City Council member Courtney Johnston for the seat in the 5th U.S. House District, which includes parts of Nashville. Democrat Maryam Abolfazli is unopposed in the Democratic primary.

Incumbent Representatives John Rose and Mark Green are both unopposed in the Republican primaries for their seats in Districts 6 and 7, respectively.

In the 6th district, three Democrats are vying for the nomination: Lore Bergman, Clay Faircloth and Cyril Focht.

Former Nashville Mayor Megan Barry is unopposed in the Democratic primary for the 7th District.

There are five seats on the Metro Nashville Public Schools board of directors up for election this year, with all but two candidates running unopposed.

The Davidson County ballot also includes a handful of general district elections and the Oak Hill municipal election.

Early voting begins at 8 a.m. Friday. All polling places will be open for the duration of early voting for the August 1 election.

With early voting, voters can cast their ballot at any open polling place. Poll workers will ask for your address so they can give you the correct ballot.

  • Bellevue Library, 720 Baugh Road, Nashville
  • Bordeaux Library, 4000 Clarksville Pike, Nashville
  • Casa Azafrán Community Center, 2195 Nolensville Pike, Nashville
  • Edmondson Pike Library, 5501 Edmondson Pike, Nashville
  • Goodlettsville Library at 205 Rivergate Parkway, Goodlettsville
  • Green Hills Library at 3701 Benham Avenue, Nashville
  • Hermitage Library, 3700 James Kay Lane, Hermitage
  • Hillwood High School at 6215 Hickory Valley Road, Nashville
  • Madison Library, 610 Gallatin Pike South, Madison
  • Metro office building at 800 President Ronald Reagan Way, Nashville
  • South Inglewood Community Center at 1624 Rebecca Street, Nashville
  • Southeast Library, 5260 Hickory Hollow Parkway, Antioch

Here are the opening hours for these locations from July 12 to 27

  • Friday, July 12: 8 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, July 13: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
  • Monday, July 15: 8 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, July 16: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.
  • Wednesday, July 17: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, July 18: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.
  • Friday, July 19: 8:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, July 20: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
  • Monday, July 22: 8 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, July 23: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.
  • Wednesday, July 24: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, July 25: 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.
  • Friday, July 26: 8 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.
  • Saturday, July 27: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Yes. Tennessee voters must bring a valid photo ID. This can be a Tennessee driver’s license or photo ID, a U.S. passport, a U.S. military ID with photo, or a Tennessee state photo firearm permit.

Student IDs, city or county issued IDs, and out-of-state photo IDs are not accepted.

You do not need to bring your voter registration card to vote.

You can request either a Republican or a Democratic ballot and poll workers will make sure you have the correct ballot.

If you would like to see what your ballot will look like before you vote, Davidson County has sample ballots available here.

To find your school district, enter your address here.

Employers are required to grant their employees paid leave to vote, provided they have been informed.

By Liam