Iowa Central hosts awards ceremony for medical laboratory technicians | News, Sports, Jobs
Iowa Central hosts awards ceremony for medical laboratory technicians | News, Sports, Jobs

-Photo courtesy of Iowa Central Community College
Iowa Central Community College’s Medical Engineering Laboratory (MDA) graduates were honored on July 1.

Iowa Central Community College’s annual Medical Laboratory Technician Awards Ceremony, honoring graduates of the Medical Laboratory Technician program, was held July 1 in the Life Sciences and Health Sciences Building on the Fort Dodge campus.

MLT Program Coordinator Shawna Schuler opened the ceremony by welcoming all graduates, families and friends before keynote speaker and former Program Coordinator Josh Kraushaar shared comments from each graduate’s clinical sites about them and their respective attributes for a successful laboratory career.

Anthony Zigrang was chosen by his fellow graduates to give a student response. He first addressed the graduates with memories of their time together during the two years in the program and concluded with “As an MLT in a hospital, we feel needed. MLTs provide important information about the patient to support their treatment. But being an MLT means more than that. Sometimes you have to give patients words of support when they need it most, other times you have to advocate for them or just help them feel a little more comfortable.”

Following Zigrang’s address, the Academic Excellence Award was presented to Olivia Grote, the Clinical Excellence Award to Molly Wittrock, and the Outstanding Teaching Tech Award to Sherry Kunert of Humboldt County Memorial Hospital.

After honoring the nine graduates, the ceremony ended with a reception for all present.

Graduates of the Medical-Technical Laboratory 2024

Mackinzie Fahey, Rockwell City; Javier Francisco, Sioux City; Olivia Grote, Wall Lake; Gianna Koppen, Fort Dodge; Noelle Olmstead, Otto; Jessica Thoren, Emmetsburg; Keeley Waack, Maquoketa; Molly Wittrock, Humboldt; and Anthony Zigrang, Fort Dodge.

During the ceremony, the following institutions were thanked for providing clinical experiences for the students: Buena Vista Regional Medical Center, Cherokee Regional Medical Center, Hansen Family Hospital, Humboldt County Memorial Hospital, Iowa Specialty Hospital, Spencer Hospital, Saint Anthony Regional Hospital, Stewart Memorial Community Hospital, Unity Point – Saint Luke’s, Unity Point – Trinity Regional Medical Center, Van Diest Medical Center.

Latest news and more in your inbox

By Liam