close
close
DNR auctions nearly 100 properties across Michigan; here’s how you can bid
DNR auctions nearly 100 properties across Michigan; here’s how you can bid

The Michigan DNR will auction off nearly 100 properties in August and September during the annual DNR land auction.

According to the DNR, this year’s land auction includes lakefront properties, riverfront properties and undeveloped forest properties.

Selling surplus land is an integral part of their strategy and auction proceeds are reinvested to acquire additional land in the area.

A total of 91 properties will be auctioned across the state. Auction dates by county can be found below.

  • Friday, August 2 – Eaton and Livingston County.
  • Tuesday, August 6 – Chippewa, Luce and Mackinac Counties.
  • Wednesday, August 7 – Dickinson, Houghton, Marquette, Menominee and Ontonagon counties.
  • Thursday, August 8 – Crawford, Missaukee, Ogemaw, Otsego and Roscommon counties.
  • Friday, August 9 – Antrim and Charlevoix Counties.
  • Tuesday, August 13 – Alpena, Cheboygan and Presque Isle counties.
  • Wednesday, August 14 – Grand Traverse and Manistee counties.
  • Wednesday, August 21 – Arenac and Midland Counties.
  • Thursday, August 22 – Macomb and St. Clair Counties.
  • Tuesday, September 3 – Berrien County.
  • Thursday, September 5 – Genesee County.

Bidders can register in advance at www.tax-sale.info and obtain further information.

You must register before the property’s auction date and absentee bids can be placed up to 30 days before an auction.

Lake and riverfront properties are available in Cheboygan, Chippewa, Houghton, Luce, Marquette, Menominee, Missaukee, Ogemaw, Otsego and St. Clair counties.

Lots are available in a range of sizes, from under one acre to 160 acres, with more than 30 lots 40 acres or larger located throughout the UP and northern Lower Peninsula.

Notable barrier-free* waterfront properties include:

  • A property in Chippewa County with frontage on Trout Lake (Lot #10021).
  • A property in Otsego County with frontage on Seminole Lake (Lot #10074).
  • A property in Ogemaw County on Elk Lake (Lot #10067).