How to watch the Hunger Games movies in the right order
How to watch the Hunger Games movies in the right order

The hunger Games was first brought to the screen in 2012 and has since developed into a critically acclaimed franchise.

The films are based on the novels of the same name by Suzanne Collins and are set in a fictional country called Panem, which was once North America. After a deadly war called the Dark Days, the wealthy Capitol created the Hunger Games, in which one female and one male tribute from each of the country’s 12 districts are thrown into an arena to fight to the death in a televised event.

The first film is set during the 74th annual Hunger Games, where a young girl named Katniss Everdeen (Jennifer Lawrence) volunteers to be a tribute in place of her sister Prim, eventually sparking an entire revolution.

The original franchise was a box office hit and spawned four films in the 2010s. Collins has since continued the story with her 2020 prequel book The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakeswhich was later made into a film, starring Tom Blyth and Rachel Zegler.

Now she returns to Panem again with her recently announced book Sunrise on harvest daywhich takes place in the year that Haymitch Abernathy (Woody Harrelson) won the Hunger Games. A film is also scheduled to be released in 2026.

Here you can find out how to Hunger Games Films in release and chronological order.

How to watch The hunger Games in the call order

  • The hunger Games (2012)
  • The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (2013)
  • The Hunger Games – Mockingjay Part 1 (2014)
  • The Hunger Games – Mockingjay Part 2 (2015)
  • The Hunger Games – The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes (2023)

How to watch The hunger Games in chronological order

The Hunger Games – The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes (2023)

Rachel Zegler as Lucy Gray Baird and Tom Blyth as Coriolanus Snow in “The Hunger Games: The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes”.

Murray close

Based on Collins’ 2020 novel of the same name, the film is a prequel to the original franchise, set during the 10th annual Hunger Games, where young Coriolanus Snow (Blyth) is chosen as a mentor for the games.

Hoping to win a Plinth Prize scholarship to study at university and restore his family’s good name, he works hard to ensure that his mentor, a young girl named Lucy Gray Baird (Zegler) from District 12, wins the Games. In the process, the two develop a deep bond that changes them both forever.

Since the film covers the beginnings of Panem, The Hunger Games, and Snow’s descent into villainy, it should be at the top of your list if you want to watch the series in chronological order.

Regard The Hunger Games – The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes on Starz

The hunger Games (2012)

Jennifer Lawrence in “The Hunger Games”.


The film is based on Collins’ first novel in the series, published in 2008. Lawrence plays a young girl named Katniss from District 12 who volunteers for the Hunger Games after her sister Prim (Willow Shields) is chosen as a female tribute.

Katniss is then thrown into a televised arena along with 23 other tributes, where she is forced to fight to the death. However, when a new rule is introduced that allows two tributes from the same district to be declared joint winners, she and fellow tribute Peeta Mellark (Josh Hutcherson) from District 12 work together to make it home alive.

Regard The hunger Games on AMC+

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (2013)

Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson in The Hunger Games: Catching Fire.


After being declared joint victors of the 74th Hunger Games, Katniss and Peeta must continue their love charade and go on a victory tour through all the districts. However, when rebellion breaks out across Panem, President Snow (Donald Sutherland) takes revenge by enacting a new rule known as the Third Quarter Quell in the 75th year of the Hunger Games.

To remind the rebels that even the strongest cannot defeat the Capitol, Snow announces that the tributes will be assembled from the remaining victors, which ultimately leads to Katniss and Peeta entering the arena together again.

Regard The Hunger Games: Catching Fire on AMC+

The Hunger Games – Mockingjay Part 1 (2014)

Liam Hemsworth and Jennifer Lawrence in “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1”.

Murray Close/Color Force/Lionsgate/Kobal/Shutterstock

After the release of catch fireCollins’ third book in the series was split into two separate films. The first half sees the aftermath of the 75th annual Hunger Games, where Katniss learns that a handful of tributes have worked together to start a rebellion.

After being declared the face of the rebellion, also known as “Mockingjay”, by game maker Plutarch Heavensbee (Philip Seymour Hoffman), Katniss works with a group of residents of the 13th District to convince the other districts to join the fight against the Capitol.

Regard The Hunger Games – Mockingjay Part 1 on AMC+

The Hunger Games – Mockingjay Part 2 (2015)

Jena Malone, Jennifer Lawrence in The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2.
Lionsgate/Color Force/Kobal/Shutterstock

The final Hunger Games The film follows directly on from the events of Mockingjay – Part 1where Peeta attacks Katniss after being brainwashed by Snow. While Katniss wrestles with this new version of Peeta, she continues to help District 13 in their fight to unite the districts.

Along the way, Katniss finds herself in the Capitol with the ultimate mission to assassinate President Snow. Katniss and her entire group are put to the ultimate test when the Capitol is turned into an arena with deadly explosives and traps throughout the city, resulting in many casualties.

Regard The Hunger Games – Mockingjay Part 2 on AMC+